top of page

The Tumultuous 2020

Hindsight In 2020: Thankful For The Tumultuous 2020


Most would say that the year 2020 was a terrible time. During the span of this year, the world has experienced the Australian brush fires, the COVID-19 Pandemic, a stock market crash, national protests in relation to racism and prejudices, the arrival of murder hornets, the West Coast wildfires, and a massive explosion in Beirut. In this year alone, we’ve experienced the death of Black Panther himself, Chadwick Boseman, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Eddie Van Halen, David Prowse, Alex Trebek, Sean Connery, and (as I type this) over three hundred thousand due to COVID-19. From many people’s point of view, the year 2020 couldn’t have been much worse.


Despite all the difficulties this year has thrown at our world, our nation, and my home; I am still thankful for the year 2020. That’s right, I said it. I’m thankful that I was able to live in and through this year, no matter how dysfunctional, challenging, and chaotic it might have been. Maybe it’s the spirit of the holidays or the food that I know is on the horizon, but there is so much more to be thankful for during this past year than people realize.


The following list is my personal list of reasons to be thankful for the Tumultuous 2020.


During the year 2020, I was able to watch my kids laugh, play, and grow while teaching from home during the COVID-19 shutdown. Despite what some would believe, I enjoyed being home with my two toddlers for three months. Oh yes, there were trying some days. You better believe daddy was ready for mama to come home at five o’clock. Yeah, I changed more dirty diapers than I can count. But you know what? I got to be right there with my kids for some of the most fun times in their little lives. Looking back on those couple of months, it was a blast.


Photo By Hannah Boggs

During the year 2020, I realized just how much I appreciate my parents and in-laws. I’ve always been the type to talk to my parents every day over the phone; however, during the shutdown, phone calls just didn't cut it. If we called and said we needed a break, my parents and in-laws were more than willing to offer their help. They’d come over and give us a few hours of relief from being arrested and playing baby dolls. Nothing can replace their willingness and availability during those months. Even when the COVID shutdown wasn’t a thing, both sets of grandparents have lovingly watched and kept our kids so that daddy and mama could have some quality time to themselves. Thank you guys so much for all you have done and continue to do for our family and our sanity.


My dad and I got to do more fishing in 2020 than we have in a long time. Because of the social distancing, we were able to distance ourselves on the water and get up close and personal to some big fish! I’m thankful that I have a relationship with my father that I do. He and I are able to be together, by ourselves, for long periods of time and just be buddies. Thanks pop for always taking me fishing and hunting.

A Big Spotted Bass At Lake Jocassee

I’m thankful that my wife and I recovered from our bout COVID. That’s right. The virus that plagued 2020 hit our home like many others around the world. Sadly, on my wife’s birthday, I gave her a gift unlike she had ever received: the COVID. She woke up the day of her birthday sick as a dog. Thankfully, both of us had very mild symptoms and recovered rather quickly. Other than a pounding four-day headache and serious fatigue, our experience with the virus was rather uneventful. I know that this pandemic has caused serious issues around the world and caused many families pain and grief. It is my hope that this awful sickness will soon forever leave our lives.


This past year has been hectic. One thing that has stayed the same through it all is my wife. Of all the people in my life who could have gone crazy, it was her. See, not only does she have to deal with me and two crazy children; but, she’s also a nurse. She’s been face to face with this pandemic since it began. Not every day has been easy. There have been nights when she’s come home from work tired, upset, and, honestly, just ready to get in bed! Despite the difficulties of her job, having to work in a different department than she was hired for a while, and working right through this pandemic, she has always come home ready to love on her children and her husband. She is my sunshine, for real. I’m thankful for her love, positivity, and her ability to handle all of this year’s difficult situations and still be an amazing mother and wife.

Photo By Hannah Boggs

The Office is one of the best shows on TV, even today. While we were stuck at home during the months of March, April, and May; my wife and I rewatched The Office for the third time. Well, it was my third and her first time all the way through. The show provided laughs, tears, and awkward situations galore. I still get emotional seeing Jim ask Pam on their first date. Watching Michael and Jim agreeing to eat lunch on Michael’s last day despite them both knowing it isn’t going to happen causes my eyes to leak tears in an unhealthy manner. That final episode makes my heart swell with both joy and sadness that most other shows have failed to do. I’m thankful for that TV show. It kept my wife and I laughing long after the kids went to bed.

I’m so thankful for our home and neighborhood. Having to be stuck in our home or close to our neighborhood wasn’t terrible. The kids were able to play and our home was more organized than it had ever been, mostly due to my wife. I didn’t realize how much this house meant to me until I had to literally quarantine myself in it for ten straight days.


Under Quarantine At A Dirt Pile

College football was a nice distraction throughout these difficult times. While the season didn’t provide joy or a feeling of accomplishment for myself, being that I’m a South Carolina Gamecock fan, the games themselves allowed football fans an escape from all things COVID. While we only won two games, the season did have its bright spots. Our starting running back Kevin Harris wowed fans with his ability and effort on his way to a one thousand yard rushing season! The fans have renewed hope with our new coach, Shane Beamer. Hopefully, the 2021 football season will be COVID free and the Gamecocks will have more success.

I hope I don’t offend anyone with what I’m about to say; but, I’m going to say it anyway. I’m thankful that the violent protests, looting, and rioting have calmed down. I certainly don’t agree with police brutality and firmly stand against the racisms and prejudices that happen around our nation; however, meeting violence with violence didn’t and still does not make sense to me. It is my hope that the peaceful protests have brought new light to the issues that still plague our nation and pointed us in a brighter future.


Finally, I’m so thankful that it’s Christmas. This time of year is my absolute favorite season. I love the cold weather and the feelings that the holidays bring. My kids are so ready to open the presents we have under our tree and I cannot wait to see their faces when they see what’s under that wrapping paper. I know the season is about more than just presents and food, duh. Jesus is the reason for the season! After all, it’s His birth that we celebrate. Just like Jesus brought hope, joy, and peace to our world, this season brings those things to homes and hearts all around the world. I know the pandemic is far from over; but, this season has led me to believe that the end is near. The end of the pandemic that is! Don’t shoot your eye out Christmas morning and please, don’t be a Grinch. No matter what you believe, wish others a happy holiday, and mean it. We should all want a happy end to this year.


Thanks for reading! Hopefully reading this has encouraged you to think about what you're thankful for during this tumultuous time. There’s more to be thankful for than you know. Be thankful for that breath you just took, that beat that your heart just made.


Here’s me wishing you a merry Christmas, happy holidays, and a happy new year!


Happy Friday!

Merry Christmas!


304 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page