top of page

HI2020 #14: Four Months & Seven Years Ago...

On March 7th, 2013 I went on my last first date with the woman who would eventually become my bride. You’re wondering to yourself right now... wow, how does he remember that date so well? Want to know how? I kept a movie ticket from that night for many years after because it signified a major change that took place in my life.


How’d we meet? Funny you should ask. I was introduced to the woman who would be my bride by my girlfriend at the time. And no, it’s not what you think. My girlfriend at the time was playing church league softball and, like any good boyfriend would do, I went to support her. I don’t remember much about that game but I remember this.


My girlfriend struck out. Twice. The pitcher that struck her out was, none other than, my future bride.


After the game, my girlfriend introduced me to the girl and I found out her name.


Her name was Lisa.


We friended each other soon after on social media. And we didn’t speak again until months later.


After that relationship ended with the girl who introduced me to Lisa, I messaged Lisa on social media and we hit it off. Not long after, we went on our first date to the movies on March 7th, 2013. And my world was forever changed.


We met at the Walmart in Camden and rode together in route to our date in Columbia. On the way, I was listening to the University of South Carolina baseball game on the radio, as I usually do during baseball season. That didn’t last long. Before we hit the interstate, she hit the power button on the radio, turning it off so we could ‘talk’. She still laughs about that to this day.


We ate dinner and then ventured to the movie theater where we got a large popcorn and one large soda…to share. I didn’t even get an extra straw. I let her know up front about my intentions. She laughs about that to this day as well.


We were late to the movie. The theater was packed! We sat in the front row, heads tilted to the sky, and I have no idea what the movie was about. All I could think about was her.


She was beautiful. She was funny. She was unlike any other girl I’d ever met. Of course, she was cold as we left the theater (she’s still cold to this day, doesn’t matter where we are) so I gave her my jacket. I let her take it with her when we arrived back at her car, knowing we’d have to meet again in order to retrieve the jacket. I walked her to her door and gave her a big hug before she left. After the hug, much to her surprise, I planted a kiss on her cheek.


No regrets there.


In April we became Facebook official.


I asked her to marry me in July.


We got married in August.


True story. Five months after our first date we were engaged. Six months after our first date we were married. Were we crazy? Dang right. We were crazy about one another.


You know what’s awesome? Our family never questioned a thing. They knew we were in love and did everything they could to help us reach that altar. And it took all of our family.


Our wedding took place at the family vineyard. It took a community effort to pull it off, but it happened. Thanks to our families’ hard work, we were married right there on the family farm where I grew up and played as a kid.


The whole day was a blur. The one thing I’ll never forget about that day was seeing Lisa, my bride, for the first time turn the corner and walk to me between rows twelve and thirteen.


Words can’t describe how beautiful she was as she walked to meet me under that oak tree. My eyes were glued to her. Everything around me disappeared and it was just me and her. We were doing it.

We said our vows, exchanged rings and exited the grapevines to Old Crow Medicine Show’s “Wagon Wheel”. After (what seemed like) millions of photographs and working up a sweat on the dance floor, we headed off to our honeymoon in Hilton Head. It was a wonderful three day weekend spent with the woman I’d always hoped for.


This may come as a surprise, or not, depending on your reflections on life; but, after the honeymoon time seemed to speed up. Looking back now it seems like our life was moving in fast forward. I remember small things that we still joke about today...but for the most part, life was good and it was moving.


First came love. Then came marriage. Then come a couple of babies and a mortgage! But life has never been better. My love for her grows every day and I can’t imagine my life without her.


I have loved every, single moment of life with my bride. Have I made mistakes? You bet. Am I still learning how to be a good husband and a good dad? Dang right I am. Do I have regrets about marrying a girl whom I only dated for five months? Well... maybe one regret.


I wish I would have asked her to marry me sooner.


Happy Fryeday!

I hope you enjoyed this post! Be sure to check out all the others by going to my homepage, scrolling to the bottom and clicking a post. Have a great weekend!


815 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page