top of page

HI2020: A Funeral For A Friend

My dad worked with a guy who beat leukemia three times. During that man’s fourth bout with leukemia, The Lord called him home. I got the news Monday morning from my dad that his friend at work passed away earlier that morning. Even through a text, I could tell my dad was upset at his friend’s passing. Who in their right mind wouldn’t be a little upset at losing a friend?


Eight years ago I lost a friend very unexpectedly. His name was Brice. With no warning, he passed away one night due to complications from an enlarged heart. He was only twenty-three years old, same age as I was at the time. I’ll never forget my dad calling me and giving me the news. It broke me. One moment he was there, the next he was gone. That kind of news is never easy to give or receive. I remember sitting around that day, not doing much, just thinking about my friend.


The seniors of our 2007 baseball team. Brice is is the middle with the amazing beard.

My friend, Brice, and I played baseball together since we were kids and continued playing baseball together throughout high school. Brice played in the outfield, at third base, and he could sling it from the mound as well. When Brice stepped into the batter’s box, he was a forced to be reckoned with. Maybe it was a superpower from his fierce facial hair, but when he connected with the ball it would travel great distances. And like I mentioned, he had an amazing beard. Even in high school, as a young guy, Brice was blessed with fantastic facial hair. During our high school years, we would often joke with Brice about him being so hairy and he would always come back and say that ‘real men’ were hairy.



Most of us had popular music of the time as our walk out music when we’d go up to the plate. Not Brice. When he went to the plate, the heavy metal was blasting out the speakers. That was him. He loved his rock music and wasn’t ashamed to tell you about it.


Not only was he hairy, but the dude could eat. His tray at lunch was always packed to the brim and all of the contents that he sat down with found their way to his belly. The thing was, no matter how much he ate, Brice never gained a pound. Strike it up to a fast metabolism or something; but, the dude could eat.

Thomas, Keaton (15), Me (6), Brice (9) praying before our final inning in the lower state championship.

I was speaking at a church the weekend that Brice passed. During the message, I had my phone on the podium to help me not exceed the ‘fried-chicken-time-limit’. As I was finishing up the message, my phone lit up signaling a number calling from my hometown. Later I would learn that caller was Brice’s father, Mr. Robert. He left a voicemail asking me to speak at his son’s funeral. My friend’s funeral. How could I say no?


I had never spoken at a funeral. This would be my first time. At my own friend’s funeral.


I took that day off from work and prepared what I would say. I had it all typed up and ready to go. On the way to the gravesite, my dad driving, my mom in the backseat, I remember telling my dad how nervous I was and how unprepared I felt.


I don’t think anyone is ever ready to lose a friend, a loved one, or a family member. I especially don’t think anyone is prepared to talk at that person’s funeral in front of their family and friends. But I felt a sense of responsibility. Brice’s dad had entrusted me with this responsibility. I had to do it.


As people flooded the gravesite in preparation to show their respects, my heart rate increased. I stood at the front, overlooking Brice’s family, our shared friends, our former baseball team, and his grieving girlfriend. As the preacher finished his message, the time came for me to share.


What did I talk about? I don’t remember.


Did it ease the hearts of the people there? Probably not.


What do I remember? I remember being thankful that I had sunglasses on because my eyes were wet with tears. I could hardly read the paper from the water blurring my vision. I was shaking to the point of convulsions. That’s what I remember.


Before I knew it, it was over. I said what I had said. Here’s the message that I hope I conveyed to everyone there...


We may not understand what God is doing, but He is still on the throne.


My wife and I were watching a murder mystery show on Netflix a couple of weeks ago. In that show, there was a scene of a woman speaking at her friend’s funeral who’d just recently passed. That scene brought me to tears. All of the emotions that I had felt losing my friend and speaking at his funeral came flooding over me again.


Speaking at my friend’s funeral was one of the hardest, most difficult things I’ve ever done. Even knowing that now, I would do it again to give honor to his life and to share the impact he had on mine.


Having known and played baseball with Brice made me appreciate life even more. When I think of him, I remember his smile and his always positive attitude. He was a good baseball player, an excellent hunter, and a caring friend.


Thankfully, I haven’t lost another close friend since that time in 2012 when Brice passed. Here’s the thing; we will all come face to face with death. People we love, care about, and are close to will pass away. One day, only God knows when, we will do the same.


No one is guaranteed tomorrow. All you have is today.


Knowing that, what are you going to do with today? What will you do today to impact someone’s tomorrow? You never know, tomorrow your close friend could be asked to speak at your funeral. What would they say about your life and the influence you had on others?


Today could be our last day. Let's make the most out of it!


Happy Friday!

Thanks for reading! I really appreciate it! Be sure to check out my other posts below.

500 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page